Brown's in Kruger August 2009 *

Bushcraft

Brown's in Kruger August 2009 *

Post by Bushcraft »

August 2009

I have always loved the outdoors, fishing, etc, but never dreamed of going to KNP because one can’t catch fish there, but in 2004 our oldest daughter, who was 3 at the time, was diagnosed with leukaemia. The shock and 3 years of chemo and chaos changes ones outlook on life.

My brother and family, who helped us through the chemo years, have been going to KNP for many years and suggested that we joined them on a trip in 2007. The wife was very keen, but I moaned for weeks that I was going to get bored and there’s no fish to catch, etc. Well, we joined my brother and family in 2007 for 4 days and I found myself begging for another day and almost refused to go home.

We have all gone back twice a year since (it would be more if leave and finances allowed it) and I personally wish that we could live there.

I have been threatening to write this trip report for many months now, but having never posted before, let alone up loaded pictures, I never got around to it. Our last trip each year has been in August and this is last year’s trip, which I need to complete in a week as we are about to leave for our first 2010 trip on the 9th of June.

Just to give you a brief family description, my brother Garth and his wife Mel have 3 daughters, 18, 9 and 4 and my wife and I have 3 daughters, 9, 6 and 4, so KNP accommodation, in the same camp, has always been a challenge, but we have been lucky so far.

Bushcraft

Re: Brown's in Kruger August 2009

Post by Bushcraft »

August 21 Home –Talamati

A quick stop at Orpen toilets then down the H7 and S36.

Shimangwaneni dam produced the first of the big 5, buffalo and elephants cooling off. The remains of a black rhino carcass can be seen on the edge of the dam, which I believe was killed by another rhino. Last year we were lucky to have a lion pride in the road for more than an hour at the dam, but no lions today.