Video help for a newbie

Discuss the technical side of photography
trailrunner

Video help for a newbie

Post by trailrunner »

So here's the thing. I currently have a pretty good DSLR setup with a Canon 7D, 450D, 70 - 200mm Zoom, and 300mm lenses with a few other smaller primes and general zooms so feel relatively sorted for our trip to Kruger in three weeks. I am a serious amateur photographer with what I would term an intermediate knowledge of photography and learning all the time [O] .

I would like to have a mid range video camera that I and the missus could use in conjunction with the still camera's, question is what do I buy :-? :-? ?

Budget would be up to about the R5K, R6K mark max, I haven't shot any film on a video in many years and played briefly with the video function on my 7D but that is pretty much dedicated to stills.

So things to consider would be obviously budget, ease of use and decent zoom really not clued up here -O-
Fnally whether it would be wise to try to get a slightly better specked used camera and if so what do I look out for :X: ?

Any advice here would be much appreciated :ty: .

If you know not of your past and know not of your present, you cannot predict your future and will be like a cabbage in a society.
Flutterby

Re: Video help for a newbie

Post by Flutterby »

Hi TR,

I can't give you much advice on this topic. We use my son's old Canon SX 30is as a video camera which is adequate for our needs, but I'm sure you will get some good advice here. ;-)

Bushveld Jock

Post by Bushveld Jock »

trailrunner why don't you use the 7D as a video camera as well, as far as I know you can take video's and shoot stills at the same time by pushing the shutter button. Just check what the manual says -O-

Kgalagadi: Dec 2015
KNP Maroela, Shingwedzi & Pretoriuskop: March 2016
nan

Post by nan »

idem like Bushveld Jock \O
and I'm very satisfied with that

we have to take so much 0*\ ... enough with 2 "bodies" (camera's body... of course =O: )